HOME  

Andrew Stewart's Product Reviews

  • Great!!
  • Troy (McAllister) Chanter Reeds The Best there is!, August 18th, 2010
    According to James P. Troy, Roddy MacLeod has been playing the same reed for 3 years. The sound of these reeds can't be beat. I've converted 3 bands here in Toronto to these reeds this year alone.
  • Bannatyne Hide Synthetic Pipe Bag with Zipper Great bag, September 1st, 2010
    In my opinion it's the best synthetic bag out there. The extended small is great for those that get numb fingers playing a medium bag.
  • McCallum AB4 Bagpipes can't fault them, September 1st, 2010
    I bought these as my first set a few years ago and although I'd really like a set of silver and ivory vintage Henderson's. these pipes are really working for me!
  • Technopipes by Fagerstrom I love them!, September 1st, 2010
    I couldnt live without this thing! I get about 50% more practice time in a week now that I have this.
  • McCallum McC2 Gold Blackwood Chanter beautiful!, September 1st, 2010
    It's the best chanter on the market, I would highly recommend it.
  • Glengarries The Best there is!, September 1st, 2010
    Robert Mackie glens are the only ones worth buying. With all of this highland wear you get what you pay for and these glens are not cheap quality.
  • MG Synthetic Drone Reeds perfect, September 1st, 2010
    I've never had any problems with these reeds. I'm going on three years with this set and they are still singing away!
  • Rhythmic Fingerwork by Jim McGillivray A must have, September 1st, 2010
    No piper should be without this book. It has a solution for any problem you may have with your technique.
  • McCallum Practice Chanter PC1 PC2 PC4 Great PC, September 1st, 2010
    This was my first practice chanter. If you are looking for a good sounding, poly practice chanter, this is the one to go with.
  • National Piping Centre Tutor The best tutor book, September 1st, 2010
    This is the most up to date, well thought out tutor book available right now. It has a great section on exercises alone that you can use to keep you up to form for years. There is also a CD-Rom that comes with it that includes Piobmaster files of all the tunes and video clips of someone playing the exercises.
  • Piper's Pal Reed Protector A must have, September 1st, 2010
    This thing helps my reed settle in at least 15 minutes earlier than it would normally. Our Pipe Major has supplied that band with them and insists that every piper in the band use one of these
  • Pipe Major's Handbook Great book, September 1st, 2010
    This book covers a lot of ground. It is a great source of information for anyone that play's in a band.
  • John Cairns Tutor Vol 5 , March 7th, 2011
    I had the set of these books and sold them. This volume though I must say that I regret selling. It is full of great exercises and drills.
  • This is the most effective moisture control system out there. there's not a drop of moisture on my reeds after a two hour band practice!
  • Mark Saul Bagpipe Tuner , March 7th, 2011
    I meant to make that last comment a Five star review
  • Dunbar DB2 Bagpipes , March 10th, 2011
    Five stars!!
  • Kinnaird Kanister Moisture Control Best drying system I've seen., April 28th, 2011
    I absolutely love this thing! Plug and play, just as effective as the Ross system, no rubber bands to tackle like in the Ross and it's half the price. Worth every penny!
  • Canning Drone Reeds Great reeds!, July 19th, 2012
    I've been using these reeds for a while now. In competition I've gotten great comments on my drones from the judges, more than I was getting before with the same pipes (McCallums) my drones seem steadier with these reeds.
  • Piobaireachd Fingerwork by Jim McGillivray A must have, July 19th, 2012
    As a piobaireachd student, this book is just as essential as his first book was for light music. It completely breaks down and disects every movement. He also looks at other ways of playing such as the redundant low A.
  • A High Cut Above - Music for Highland Dancing It's the best book out there., July 19th, 2012
    This isn't just the best book out there for dance pipers, it's also great settings of tunes a piper should just know.
  • The Complete Burns Piper A good resource., July 19th, 2012
    This book is a great one to have as we pipers should be ready to go every year for Burns night. If you want to do it right and look sharp and knowledgable. This book is definitely worth while putting on your shelf as a resource.
  • Ross Chanter Reeds , July 19th, 2012
    These reeds are solid. I've played these quite a bit and they are strong and last a long time. Great bright sound.
  • Moose Valve , July 19th, 2012
    As stated below: "this IS the best valve on the market" it also works as s water trap. Mine is getting older now and is showing no sign of wear.
  • Reed Mandril Imperative , July 19th, 2012
    I revived three old reeds when I got this tool. I take it to band practice, the P/M is constantly asking for it. It's one of the more important tools to keep in your case.
  • Ash Plugs , July 19th, 2012
    I was given these by my Pipe Major. They are mor economical than other products out there and do what they are supposed to do.
  • Ezeedrone Reeds , March 10th, 2011
    Best bet for a band to buy as they well with such a wide variety of pipes. They take a bit more air than some other reeds though.
  • The best practice chanter reeds I've used. I play a ABW Dunbar PC and found that the Walsh reeds didn't match as well.
  • Gordon Walker is always a great listen and this CD is one of his best
  • Kilberry Book - Piobaireachd The most important book to have, September 1st, 2010
    This is the most useful piobaireachd book out there. Every piob player should have this.
  • Mark Saul Bagpipe Tuner , March 7th, 2011
    I'm a second year grade 4 solo competitor and using one of these has helped me become completely self reliant. Came in first last time with great comments on how in tune my pipes were. Judge was Michael Grey.
  • Ross Bag , March 10th, 2011
    Had mine set up in no time and no issues so far. A great pipe bag!
  • Dunbar DB2 Bagpipes , March 10th, 2011
    I just ended up buying this same set from a local music shop for a discount too Good to walk away from. I'm very impressed with the tone of these pipes. I re-helped them and set them up with a new bag and drone reeds and took them off to band practice. They would make a great starter set. I'll be competing with them this year! They stay in tune quite well.